

SWTHA Triannual Business Meeting AMERIND Risk, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM October 9, 2019

MEETING MINUTES

Prior to the meeting: Lunch Presentation, "The Life of a LIHTC Project", by Robin Thorne, RTHawk Vice President, Training & Asset Management

Welcome: Derek Valdo, AMERIND Risk, Chief Executive Officer

Prayer: Floyd Tortalita, Pueblo of Acoma

Call to Order: The business meeting was called to order at 1:10pm by Michael Chavez, SWTHA Interim President.

Roll Call/ Official Quorum made: Hopi Tribal Housing Authority, Yavapai Apache Nation Tribal Housing, Jicarilla Apache Housing Authority, Laguna Housing Development & Mgmt. Enterprise, Mescalero Apache Tribe Housing Department, Nambe Pueblo Housing Entity, Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority, Pueblo of Jemez Housing Department, Tamaya Housing Incorporated, Zuni Housing Authority, Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo. Received 3 Proxies from Ak-Chin Indian Community Housing, Cocopah Indian Housing & Development, and Gila River.

Approval of Agenda of Meeting: Motion was made to adopt agenda. Acoma approved; Laguna seconded. The agenda was approved.

Approval of Minutes: May 6, 2019, Denver Open Media, Denver, CO: Motion made to approve meeting minutes. Acoma approved; Ysleta Del Sur seconded. The minutes were approved.

Reports:

- **AMERIND:** Floyd Tortalita, AMERIND Representative, presented the report.
- NAIHC: Brook Kristovich, NAIHC Representative presented the report.
- **HUD:** Letichia Rodriquez, SWONAP Grants Management Specialist, presented the report.
- **SWTHA:** Nina Jaramillo, SWTHA Treasurer, submitted the Financial Report.

Old Business:

• **SWTHA Bylaws** Revision and Adoption: Tim Humphrey, Esq. discussed the suggested change to combine Secretary and Treasurer. Changes will be sent to membership for approval. The position of Secretary/Treasurer is held by Nina Jaramillo.

Elections:

SWTHA Region VIII AMERIND Risk Representative:
Representative - Lisa Manwell, Jicarilla Apache Housing Authority
Alternate - Floyd Tortalita, Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority

- Secretary/Treasurer: Nina Jaramillo, Tamaya Housing Inc., is the current Secretary and Interim Treasurer. Motion made to appoint Nina as Treasurer, pending resolution of Amendment to the Bylaws, and was seconded. All were in favor, none opposed. Nina voted as Treasurer by unanimous consent.
- NM Representative: Brook Kristovich and Greta Armijo were nominated. Greta Armijo, Pueblo of Jemez Housing Department, was voted as NM Representative.
- **AZ Representative** Nadie Beauty, Yavapai Apache Nation Tribe Housing, was nominated and voted as AZ Representative.
- **President:** Michael Chavez and Floyd Tortalita were nominated. Michael turned down the position. Floyd Tortalita, Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority, was voted as President by unanimous consent.
- NM Representative: (To replace Floyd Tortalita) Nadine Encino, Laguna Housing Development & Management Enterprise, was nominated, there were no other nominations. Nadine was voted by unanimous consent.

SWTHA 501c3 Query - Tim Humphrey, Esq: Housing can be 501c3 or 501c4. (501c4 could qualify under social welfare and local association of employees, but not guaranteed tax exempt.) Currently can operate as "Not for Profit". As 501c3 SWTHA would be tax exempt and would open more doors. Easier to have 501c3 certification than to prove status. Can apply under Educational or Charitable. Would need to send in Annual Report. Currently registered in the state of NM but should file not for profit in AZ and TX. Motion for SWTHA move forward and establishing a 501c3 status. There was unanimous vote to move forward.

SWTHA Associate Membership Presentations:

- Travois Presentation Trent Rogers, Project Coordinator
- Rural Community Assistance Corp Presentation Erika Holzhauer, Rural Development Specialist

SWTHA Meetings 2020:

- January 14-16, Ysleta Del Sur, El Paso, TX: Meeting and Training
- May 5-7, Westin, Seattle, WA: In conjunction with AMERIND/NAIHC Annual Convention
- October, In conjunction with AMERIND Symposium. (Needs discussion due to Symposium in CA in 2020)

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 5:10 p.m.